Cross Country Brings Home State


Emmi Pignatore, Staff Writer

This morning, Dakota Ridge held an assembly congratulating our men’s cross country team for winning state. It also highlighted the cross country’s head coach Mark Steinbeck as he was nominated for the Colorado 2018 5A Coach of the Year. The assembly took place during seminar with a guest speaker: former Denver Broncos wide receiver Steve Watson, who shared insight about what it means to work hard and reach your potential.

He told a story of his college experience and how he trained to be in the Denver Broncos, and mentioned how it doesn’t just take winning to be a champion; it takes time and effort and asking about what you can do to better yourself. That belief is how he became a champion.

There are ten men on the cross country team that won 5A state: Austin Vancil (12), Connor Ohlson (11), Jacob White (10), Ben Morrin (11), Riley Abrashoff (12), Ben Piegat (11), Wyatt Oglesby (11), Drew Valerio (12), Dugan Litchkowski (10),and Ethan Straub (10). Congratulations to all!